Yesterday was the official start of week 9 post surgery, but I have been so busy working that I haven’t had a chance to update.  I’ve been feeling great!  My clothes are starting to get looser and looser.  In fact, I’ve started to dig thru my drawers to find clothes that I was hanging on to that have been a size or two too small.  They are now fitting well, and I’ll probably have to start clothes shopping soon.

I have had to buy a few things.  There was some things I hadn’t thought of before losing the weight.  The first thing was my underwear.  It has been falling off lately!  I knew that I would have to buy new shirts and pants after surgery but I didn’t really think of underwear.  I’ve also purchased a few new bras.  Not only am I down a size around, but a step down in cup size is fitting just fine.  Another place I hadn’t thought of losing weight was in my wrist.  My once-snug metal watch is now spinning around on my wrist.  It’s been a strange experience.

People at work are starting to notice the weight loss as well.  There are a few people there who know about my surgery and they have been commenting on my weight loss all along, but now people who don’t know are starting to notice.  As of my official weekly weigh-in yesterday, I am down 21 lbs since surgery.  I have more energy and I’m feeling really good.

One of the things that I wanted to do prior to surgery was to take all my measurements.  I wanted to see exactly where I am losing the inches.  So here are my measurement changes.

Neck: -1.0″
Bust: -4.0″
Waist: -4.0″
Hips: -7.5″
R biscep: -0.5″
L biscep: -1.5″
R forearm: 0″
L forearm: +0.5″
R wrist: -0.5″
L wrist: -0.75″ (hence the watch spinning!!!)
R thigh: -4.0″
L thigh: -3.5″
R calf: +0.5″
L calf: +0.5″
R ankle: 0.0″
L ankle: 0.0″
R width of foot: -0.25″
L width of foot: +0.50″

I think my leg muscles are getting a little bigger because I’ve been doing so much walking.  I do at least 1.5 miles on my lunch break at work everyday.  I was also going to the gym after work 3 nights a week, but with tax season picking up, I’ve been tired after work and also bringing work home most nights.  So I’m hoping to get back into the gym fairly soon.

In other news, Jeff and I booked our trip to Ireland.  We have been talking about taking this trip for several years and we are finally booked!!  Yay!!!  I’m so excited!  We will be going in the spring.  For me, traveling on airplanes has always been a little nerve wracking because I was always afraid that the seatbelt wouldn’t fit and I’d have to ask for an extender.  I was so embarrased about that.  Now that I’ve lost some weight (especially in my mid-section), I feel fairly confident that I should fit just fine.

