No it’s not what you think.  I realize that title is a little misleading, especially considering it is following a post entitled “Are you Ovulating?”  No, I haven’t taken to blogging about my monthly cycles (but maybe I should……or not!!!)  HAHAH!!!

For Valentine’s Day, my honey decided that he was going to take me out to dinner and a movie.  How sweet!!  I love when he has his romantic moments.  🙂  He’s not always the romantic type and he likes to do things that are outside the norm, but I just love it when his romantic streak comes out. 

Like how he sent me 2 dozen roses to my office a few days before Valentine’s Day.  They were pink, magenta, yellow and peach colored (because red roses would be too normal, he said).  They were so beautiful and I was the envy of every woman in the office.  For days.  I asked the receptionist on Friday if anyone else had received flowers and she said no.  I replied that I just must be loved the most.  She tried to hold back her gag.

So my honey was planning on taking me out on Saturday.  I had scheduled my 6 week hair appointment for that day, which was awesome because then I didn’t have my trailer-trash dark roots showing for our big night out.  Yes, I do realize that some women LIKE the dark roots to be showing.  I’m one of those chicks that like a week after getting my hair done starts to see the smallest amount of re-growth and starts to hate it.  Yes, I realize that I’m retarded.  Don’t hate me because my roots are always dyed blonde!!

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Since we can’t just GO OUT without some sort of competition, we decided to make a bet on the Valentine’s Day dinner.  He wouldn’t tell me where he was taking me, so if I could guess the restaurant then I would get to pick the post-dinner movie we went to. 

I was stoked at this assignment!!!  There are a plethora of chick-flicks that I would love to drag him to see.  I really want to see “He’s Just Not That Into You” or “Confessions of a Shopaholic”, since I read all the books.  It looks really cute.  My only clue was that this was a restaurant that I have never been to and I needed to be hungry.  I was fairly certain that he was taking me to Fogo de Chao, since every time he has mentioned this place, he has said how I need to be really hungry to eat there since they just keep bringing out skewers of meat.  He keeps raving about the bacon-wrapped fillet Mignon.  Bacon-wrapped ANYTHING is a-ok in my book!!!  Bring on the bacon!!!  I started checking out showtimes for my movies (but wasn’t sure which movie theater would be closest since the restaurant is in the 90210).

On Friday night, he said that he had to change the restaurant because of the weather issues (it’s been raining cats and dogs here.  Literally.  I think I just stepped in a poodle…….yes, I realize that was lame.  Whatever!!!).  I thought, that’s strange because I don’t think there is any problem getting to Beverly Hills.  Then he said that the new restaurant is a place that I have been to before.  ‘Cause that only narrows it down to, oh, I don’t know, maybe 200 restaurants!!  Thanks honey!!

I had to make my guess in writing before we left the driveway.  I took a wild stab in the dark (goodbye bacon-wrapped goodness) and off we went.  We ended up going to P.F. Chang’s in Burbank.  Now I personally love P.F. Chang’s.  I would commit a crime of passion for their wonton soup.  Seriously, it’s that good. 

However it has taken me over a year to go back there after a very unpleasant experience with some bad scallions and a whole night of throwing up and running to the bathroom that ended with me in the ER because I thought I had appendicitis.  I never thought I would re-visit my mixture of rice, scallions and red wine in the middle of the night.  Thankfully this visit was a bit less eventful.

Since I didn’t guess the restaurant, Jeff got to pick the movie.  And guess what romantic movie he decided to take me to???  Yep, “My Bloody Valentine”.  In 3-D, no less. 

A deal is a deal, so I grudgingly followed him over to the theater and we took our seats.  The theater started to fill up, which is always good when you see a scary movie.  Half the fun is listening to the audience’s reaction and hearing other people scream. 

As the previews started playing, it seemed a big odd.  All of the previews they were showing were for Disney movies.  Usually they show all the previews for the new scary movies coming out.  Oh well, less scariness for me!!!

As the movie started, it was all a cartoon.  I thought “This is a strange way to start a horror movie, but whatever”.  As the opening credits started to roll, it turned out that we were watching “Coroline”.  Imagine the surprise of a bunch of 20-somethings who came out on a Saturday night to be scared and Coroline starts playing.  People in the theater started yelling and getting out of their seats.  Jeff and I were just sitting there laughing in our ridiculous 3-D glasses, wondering what would happen next. 

I’ve never been to the theater where they show you the wrong movie.  Then we started wondering if there was a theater full of kids expecting to see Coroline who were being subjected to a bunch of horror movie trailers.  Yikes!!!

The staff came in and fixed the movie.  They apologized for the mix-up and said they would skip the previews and get right to the movie.  Which bummed Jeff out a little bit because he likes to see what new horror movies he can try to drag me to see.

In the end, the movie was semi-predictable with a twist at the end.  I won’t spoil it in case you are planning to see it.  As we were leaving, the staff gave us all a free pass for our next visit, which was pretty nice. 

I think this means that Mrs. Kitty and I will have to see “Shopaholic” ourselves!!!  🙂

