Sorry I’ve been a delinquent blogger lately.  I really have no excuse but let me try…..

Jeff came home on Jan 2nd.  It was SOOO nice to see him!!  I got the biggest smile on my face when he walked thru the doors into baggage claim at LAX.  The whole time he was gone, it felt like a part of me was missing.  Like an arm or leg, or some other useful body part that you take for granted.  So it was nice to see him and feel complete again. 

Our plan was to go out to dinner on the way home from the airport.  Since he had been away from good Mexican food for 2 weeks, we decided to go to On The Border.  I know, it’s not like a mom-and-pop place, but they have this cheese there that is crack to me.  It’s kinda like the Tostitos cheese in a jar, but they serve it with chicken flautas and it is the most awesome thing I have ever tasted.  If I was told that I could have this cheese in unlimited amounts for the rest of my life but I would lose 10 years off my life, I would gladly make the exchange.  I did have to stop there on my way home from work when Jeff was gone because I was having crack withdrawls.

So on the way home, we went WAY out of the way to go to this restaurant.  We were all geared up for some good, down-home crack.  We got to the mall, parked the car and walked to the restaurant. 

That’s when we noticed that the restaurant was dark.

Too dark…

Uh oh!  This can’t be!  Why are they closed???  Upon further inspection, there was a sign tapped to the inside front window saying “Thank you for your patronage over the years, but we have closed our doors for good”. 

NNNNNNOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Whatever will I do without my crack cheese?  Where will I go when I have a craving for that wholesome goodness, that perfect mix of cheese and chicken that makes me so happy? 

(Never mind the fact that I, like most people around New Year’s, have decided to try to lose some weight.  I’m sure crack cheese is on SOME diet plan, and that’s the one I want to be on.  If crack cheese is wrong, I don’t want to be right!!!)

Luckily my honey saved the day (ok, well not the day but certainly pulled me out of my weekend slump) when he informed me that there is another On the Border in Palmdale, which is only a little bit farther of a drive for us from our house.  Will I make the trek?  You betcha I will!!!  Neither sleet, nor rain, nor hail….oh wait, that’s the post office.  Regardless, nothing will stop me from getting my crack fix. 

I’d like to blame Mrs. Kitty for introducing me to the crack cheese in a jar (although I do warm it up instead of eating it cold from the fridge!)

