So today’s the day I take Jeff to the airport.  I’m pretty bummed about it but I know he’ll have a great time. 

We had our little Christmas celebration last night.  He took me out to dinner, and surprised me by taking me to Claim Jumpers.  We had planned on going to Islands because I love their burgers and fries.  As we were driving right by the restaurant, the backseat driver in me couldn’t help but point of the fact that we were missing our turn.  He just smiled a smirky grin at me, and told me to sit back, baby.  He was taking me out!

We spent the whole ride with me trying to guess where we were going (’cause those are the kind of games we play!!!).  I finally guessed it about 2 miles from the restaurant.  Go me!!!! 

We had a nice dinner, which of course neither of us could finish.  They give you SO much food!!!  And surprisingly, the people who eat there look like they eat this amount of food on a regular basis.  There’s the motherload sandwich, and the motherload guy sitting 2 tables down.  Go figure!!

Then we came home and exchanged our gifts.  Jeff got me a shower CD player that I’ve been eyeing.  Now I can bee-bop in the shower.  Although, knowing me, I’ll bee-bop my way onto the bathroom floor and be rushed to the emergency room.  Ehhh, that’s what medical insurance is for, right???  🙂

I got Jeff a blu-ray movie that we’ve been looking for EVERYWHERE but were never able to find.  It’s because I’m awesome like that that I was able to find it.  Again, go me!!!  I also got him an expansion to the board game we like to play, which we wasn’t expecting at all.  It was so cool to see the look on his face when he opened it.  Although now I can just picture him on his trip, thinking about the game and wanting to come home and play.  HA!!  Serves you right for leaving for Christmas, mister!!!  (Yes, I’m still a little bitter about that, even though he does it every year, and I should be used to it by now.  But I still like to try to make him feel guilty!!  🙂  )

So this morning we were getting ready to go to the airport when I decided that I should take a shower.  I knew Jeff was going to shower this morning and get rid of the Wolfman (aka the more than 5 o’clock shadow on his face).  I turned on the water expecting a lovely outpouring of blissfully warm water and what did I receive?  Water that felt like ice coming out of the faucet.  Turns out our water heater pilot light went out and we have no hot water.  Damn!!!  My first reaction was to call my dad and ask him to either a) tell me how to re-light it, or b) beg and plead for him to drive over and light it for me.  Jeff wanted to fix it himself so I held off.

Jeff decided to take a cold shower anyways.  I told him good luck with that, as you will not get me anywhere NEAR a cold shower like that.  Hey, I’m already awake!!  I don’t need a cold shower to wake me up!!

The 2 of us went out to our balcony to check on the water heater.  Let me give you a little word picture so you can better envision the scene……  Jeff, having taken his cold shower, was already dressed.  Me,  I was standing out there in my bathrobe trying to kneel down to see if the pilot light had turned on.  Again, we live on the 3rd floor so my bare ass was hanging out for the whole neighborhood to see.  Lovely, right????  Well, maybe not if you were one of the people who had the misfortune of seeing it!!  Finally I told him that I needed to put some clothes on before our neighbors sent over the police who would arrest me for indecent exposure. 

So yes, we are the 2 people who can’t get our pilot light re-lit.  We followed the instructions in the little booklet, and were still not able to get it lit.  Jeff took this as a personal indignation against himself that it wouldn’t light.  Of course it is the water heater’s fault because “it must be broken”.  HAHAH!!!   So now we have to wait for our maintanence crew to come over, light our pilot light, and probably snicker under their breath about the idiots who can’t re-light it.

(Side note…..Jeff just walked in and, seeing what I am doing said “You’re blogging about our water heater????”   “Why yes, honey.  Inquiring minds want to hear about my bare ass hanging out over the balcony.  But don’t worry, I won’t post any pictures of it”)   HAHAHAHAH!!!

