Saturday we had our 2nd Annual Arkham Horror event.  For those of you unfamiliar with this game (as I’m sure most of you are clueless about it!!), this is a co-operative board game based on the writings of H.P. Lovecraft.  This is the guy who followed Edgar Allan Poe, so it’s some scary stuff!!  He has a pretty warped mind!!  This is the first board game that I have ever played that is completely co-op, meaning either we all win or we all lose.  Yes, the board can kick your butt and it does on a regular basis!!  Here are some lovely pictures from the event…..

The setting for the party.  Yes, that is a big oak wine barrel in the foreground.  The only way to party!!

The setting for the party. Yes, that is a big oak wine barrel in the foreground. The only way to party!!

Jeff is meticulously setting up the game.

Jeff is meticulously setting up the game.

 

)

A close up of the game. Confused yet??? 🙂

We were able to win both games that we played.  Horray!!!  Each game takes about an hour per player, so it is an all day event.  Yes, I realize that we are geeks and I’m ok with that!!!

I happened to be First Citizen in each game.  That means that even though it’s a co-op game and we all won, I was able to kick the most butt.  Take that, boys!!!  However I think it was rigged a little bit because Jeff brought Witchwood and Scarecrow beer as the prize, and I’m not a big beer drinker.  Oh well.  I still get bragging rights!!!

Some yummy treats.  I think this is why the guys like it when I play!!

Some yummy treats. I think this is why the guys like it when I play!!

