Are you singing that song yet???  I am!!!  I keep seeing that scene from Parenthood where Rick Morranis’ character bursts into his wife’s classroom and sings a god-awful rendition of it, but it’s still the sweetest thing ever.  AHHHHH!!!!

I have this small obsession with the birds in our community.  We live in an apartment complex and it’s actually a really nice place to live.  Much better than the small studio where I was previously at where drug dealers lived down the street.  One time I came home with my honey and we saw a neighbor wearing an orange shirt from the Ventura County Dept of Correctional Facilities!!  Yeah, that’s what I said!!!  Crazy!!  Needless to say, it was not the most charming place in the world.  Neither was Jeff’s place, where a man literally DIED ON THE FRONT STEPS TO THE APARTMENT COMPLEX!!!!  Seeing as it was in the BEST of neighborhoods, a guy was trying to break into a car and another guy saw him and tried to stop him.  Burglar dude then pulled a knife on the guy and chased him down the street where he stabbed him and the Good Guy died on the front porch.  Needless to say, when we were looking at our options of places to move in together, his place was pretty low on the list (right next to mine!!!).

But we did find a really charming place in a good neighborhood that we both love.  My honey likes that we live on the third floor.  I personally find this horrible when I’m tired at the end of the day, or need to bring up groceries (that’s why I call him when I get home so he can help carry them up 🙂 )  Being on the third floor feels like a tree house sometimes.  We have birds singing all the time, and constantly pooping on our deck.  I find this charming, Jeff says it’s just annoying.

When we moved in, I decided I HAD to have a hummingbird feeder.  Our first location for the feeder was on the patio.  Little did I know that bigger birds would try to use the feeder, and as they flew away, it would tilt and spill food.  So imagine my surprise when I walked out there and saw what looked like a blood bath on the floor!!!  I thought the birds must have had a horrible fight.  I was imagining some bird flying over saying “Oh no you din’t” and pecking the crap out of some poor hummingbird.  Thankfully the voice of reason that is Jeff told me that the feeder had just spilled.  Oh good, ‘cuz I was grimacing and starting to look for body parts.

We decided to move the feeder outside the kitchen window where it has had it’s home ever since.  I love it because I get to see the little birds every morning.  I keep telling Jeff we need to keep it super full so my birdies aren’t hungry.  So yeah, I’m a little crazy about them.

Imagine my surprise when I came home on Tuesday and found the feeder in pieces at my front door.  I was trying to keep it together as I was imagining some horrible bird hater who was shooting rocks via a slingshot up at my feeder to knock it down, and then laughed an evil laugh as they slinked away into the bushes.  Again my imagination had taken control, because Jeff said it had just fallen down and he retreived it for me.  It was left outside because it was covered in ants (hey, at least I made someone happy.  I bet those ants thought they had hit the jackpot!!!  Ching, ching!)

I had to purchase another one, the whole time worried that my birds were going to be hussy birds and use another feeder while mine was out of commission.  If they really loved me they’d stay!!!!  🙂  So I bought a new one last night and filled it up.  I left it on the counter because I’m too short to put it out there myself so Jeff has to do it.  It was still there this morning.  Not a good sign.  However, I just received a message from him that he put it up for me.  He knows the way to this woman’s heart!!!!

