Remember that office supply commercial where the parents are joyfully dancing around picking up back to school supplies while that Christmas song plays in the background??  The kids walk grimmly behind, looking like they are headed to their death.  I love that commercial (so does my stepmom!!). 

That’s how I feel right now.  I just got the official word that I can re-enroll in school starting October 4.  I’ve been having such a hard time finding the right program.  You see, I really like the online school programs.  It’s tough to buckle down and have the willpower to do my work, but I love not having to go to a physical school.  The last thing I want to do is go to a community college and sit with a bunch of 18 year olds who really don’t want to be there themselves and slow the progress of the whole class down.  Been there done that!  No thank you!!

So the online programs are a great advantage.  They are a bit more pricy but I think my sanity is worth the extra money.  I’ve been trying to re-enroll in South University in Atlanta, and the problem is that this school will put you in a degree program and automatically sign you up for the next class in line for your degree.  This is great if you are looking to complete a degree program.  I on the other hand, just want to take enough accounting classes to be eligible to sit for the CPA exam and get my license.  The requirement is 48 units, 24 in business and 24 in accounting relating classes.  The business classes were no problem– I was a business major!!  And I did take a couple accounting classes as well.  So I’m looking at 16 units of accounting classes that need to be done.

If they put me into an accounting program, there are a bunch of pre-req’s that I’d have to take before I even get to the accounting classes.  No good.  And if I remain in the MBA program I was in, there are not enough accounting classes in it.  Also no good.  And if I go in undeclared and just take the classes I want, I can’t use financial aid.  I think they are trying to throw as many roadblocks in my way as possible!!

So I finally got the green light yesterday that they will allow me to take only accounting classes within the accounting degree program, and not take the pre-req’s.  HALLELUJAH!!!  (You’d think they’d WANT to try to get me in so I can give them money, but apparently it took an act of God to get them to ok it).  So I ordered my highly overpriced book from Amazon yesterday and now I’m waiting for it to arrive.  I’m not sure if I’ll have it in time, but it looks like they provide the first weeks’ reading online, for this very situation.

So it’s back to school I go!!!  I figure it will take me thru the spring semester to finish up, which is perfect since another requirement for the CPA license is to work under a licensed CPA for one year (I started my job in May).  So cross your fingers for me, and hopefully it will be smooth sailing from here on out for school.

 

schoolposter.jpg school image by xxemopowerrangerxx

